Photo Essay: Perfume Places in Rome

 I was browsing through my perfume journal when I realised in horror that I’d completely forgotten to do a write up of my holiday in Rome LAST YEAR IN JUNE! Speak of scatter-brained! Well, I’ve got too many notes to type out, and not enough time, so for now I suppose a photo essay will have to suffice. After all, the cliché about a picture speaking a thousand words holds! Well make that a thousand and a few, because I’ve added captions to some of them 😉 Enjoy!

Laura Tonatto

IMG_0939

Laura Tonatto: An indie perfume shop that does some really good stuff. They sell 7.5ml miniatures of their perfumes for €12.

I wrote a haiku and mini review for one of Laura Tonatto’s creations, Fior d’Arancio.

IMG_0940

As you can see there are quite a few to try in the range, and I daresay it covers quite a wide spectrum of genres.

IMG_0942

A multimedia interactive gallery linking the scents to musi.

IMG_0944

Mixing art and scent: The Birth of Venus by Botticelli.

IMG_0943

Linking scents to cinema.

 

IMG_0941

I love this display! And especially the butterfly.

Santa Maria Novella

Santa Maria Novella

Santa Maria Novella

The busy salesperson. I'd left my umbrella behind, but thankfully got it back 2 hours later!

The busy salesperson. I’d left my umbrella behind, but thankfully got it back 2 hours later!

IMG_1215

Shelves.

Shelves.

More shelves.

More shelves.

The menu. I didn't end up getting anything from Santa Maria Novella.

The menu. I didn’t end up getting anything from Santa Maria Novella.

Campo Marzio 70 – There are 3 branches of this littered around Rome, each stocking different fragrances. Believe me when I say that Campo Marzio 70 is PERFUME HEAVEN. It has one of the widest ranges of niche perfume from all around the world, and I smelt many things there that I’d never even heard of before. The friendly, knowledgeable and generous staff make Campo Marzio 70 even more of a must visit if you’re ever in the city.

I wish I could remember her name! She was super lovely and friendly.

I wish I could remember her name! She was super lovely and friendly.

April Aromatics

April Aromatics

Fueguia: an Argentinian brand that's gone largely unnoticed by the blogging community, but which has some gems.

Fueguia: an Argentinian brand that’s gone largely unnoticed by the blogging community, but which has some gems.

Lovely wooden box packaging!

Lovely wooden box packaging!

Everything in this shop is ESSENTIAL.

Everything in this shop is ESSENTIAL.

Goodies ripe for the picking. If you've got the money, that is.

Goodies ripe for the picking. If you’ve got the money, that is.

Shop interior.

Shop interior.

Rows and rows and rows of yummy goodness!

Rows and rows and rows of yummy goodness!

IMG_1224

I think these were candles. Way too over the top for my tastes, and even if I had them I couldn't bear to use them! Imagine a melting head...

I think these were candles. Way too over the top for my tastes, and even if I had them I couldn’t bear to use them! Imagine a melting head…

Parfums MDCI

Parfums MDCI

IMG_1240

I can’t remember what brand this was, and my camera quality was too lousy back then. Let me know if you know!

IMG_1239

Lorenzo Villoresi and Penhaligon’s, side-by-side. I also spy YS UZAC and SoOud. Not a fan of the SoOud perfumes – overpriced and overdone!

IMG_1238

Atelier Cologne

IMG_1237

Carner Barcelona

IMG_1236

Isabey Paris

IMG_1235

Amorvero. I liked this, and will have to dig up my sample from my sample treasure trove. Yes, I have one 😉

IMG_1234

April Aromatics. Gorgeous stuff, but so expensive!

IMG_1233

Irisss. With many Sses.

Well what did you think? There were many more perfumeries than I’d actually listed here, with quite a number of Mom-and-Pop perfumeries that I randomly stumbled upon while walking around in Rome. Their prices weren’t that good, but they had quite a number of vintage perfumes, which might interest some of you. I’ve actually got all the addresses of the major perfumeries listed in my perfume journal, so when I’ve got the time I’ll create a guide to Rome!

~ The Smelly Vagabond

4 thoughts on “Photo Essay: Perfume Places in Rome

Leave a Reply

