L’Artisan Parfumeur – Caligna

I daresay L’Artisan Parfumeur have been giving me heartaches with their recent releases beginning with Caligna. The first three fragrance in the Explosions d’Emotions line were an exercise in futility (did anyone find Skin on Skin to be an iris-y copy of Traversée du Bosphore? And Déliria was just vile.), and I have yet to properly try the next three ones yet, them being available only at Harrods for now. Shame on you, Penhaligon’s for closing down the L’Artisan Parfumeur at Covent Garden, that was one of my favourite haunts, honest.

And guess what, I was talking to the folk over at Liberty London who have stopped stocking L’Artisan Parfumeur because, well, they’ve decided to go on AMAZON, of all places, and the prices on Amazon were undercutting the department stores. I’m not sure what to make of this sales strategy – first Sephora, now Amazon? I’m not a niche snob, and I’m happy if their fragrances (the good ones anyway) were distributed more widely since it would mean that more people would enjoy them, but I just can’t see them going full-scale mainstream. Please please please please please do not spam the releases, but rather take the time to craft something that will move the hearts of your fans, just as you moved mine with Séville à l’Aube, Timbuktu, Drôle de Rose, Dzongkha, L’Eau du Navigateur, Traversée du Bosphore and so many of your older beauties.

Yours sincerely,
The Smelly Vagabond

The Smelly Vagabond

I bemoan L’Artisan Parfumeur‘s decision to move away from the beautiful, hand-drawn, travel-inspired sketches they’ve been using in the advertising for their previous scents. I get that they want to ‘move in a different direction’. There were so many excellent directions they could have moved in. For example, advertising that’s inspired by photography (well, Olfactive Studio‘s done that already), or apocalyptic art, or comic books, or history, or fruit loops… or well, anything. Anything but what they’ve done with the advertising they used for Caligna. Evidently, the marketing team at L’Artisan Parfumeur caved in to the ‘tried-and-tested’ recipe for advertising that would translate to sales:

View original post 405 more words

2 thoughts on “L’Artisan Parfumeur – Caligna

  1. See, they got to you too! ; -) I told you: Sephora was a bas sign!

    “did anyone find Skin on Skin to be an iris-y copy of Traversée du Bosphore?” Yesss!!! Several months ago when we went sniffing with Natalie (APB) I attracted her attention to the fact that they’ve discontinued a nice TdB and for what? To release it as a much more expensive SoS?! I’m glad that somebody else has noticed that as well.

    • Aye aye I noticed it a long time back, but didn’t say anything because I didn’t think it worth saying, and I couldn’t be bothered to write about them. In fact I prefer Traversée du Bosphore to Skin on Skin, I find that latter too sweet!

Leave a Reply

