The Smelly Vagabond’s 1st Anniversary + Giveaway: Vintage L’Air du Temps

Happy Anniversary

It seems that I’ve missed out on celebrating my one year anniversary on the blogosphere, which was a couple of days back. I’m not typically the sentimental sort, not when it comes to festivities and traditions. I’m not the sort to make resolutions during the New Year, nor do I ‘look back’ at how the year has past. It’s not that I blunder through life blindly; I just believe we ought to engage in reflection frequently, anyway, and so we don’t really need special occasions to remind us to do so. But I guess I’ll break the rule for my perfumes, because, well, they occupy a special place in my life.

I’m thankful for this blog that has allowed me to pour our my thoughts on something I’m truly passionate about. I mean, I do write notes in my perfume notebook, but sometimes typing is a lot faster and allows me to indulge in my logorrhea. I’m thankful for those of you who read the blog, and who leave encouraging or passionate comments that remind me that I’m not alone in having what many people deem to be a weird obsession. I’m thankful for my fellow bloggers who write so beautifully and who inspire me. I’m thankful for the colours that perfumes bring to my life. I’m thankful for the kindness of people who have sent me samples of things I can’t find. I’m thankful for the amazing opportunities that I’ve had being here in London. This June, I will be leaving London for good. I’ll be heading back to Singapore, and if God allows it, will be moving to the US for a year to pursue my Masters (sadly, not in perfumery!) I’m definitely going to miss this city, which has been my home for the past 3 years and which will always have a special place in my heart.

Looking at my top posts of the year, I was highly surprised to find that the most viewed page, aside from the home page, was my rather pointed put down of Miss Dior Blooming Bouquet and Donna Karan Pure DKNY. The next review with the highest views was on Hermès’ Un Jardin Après la Mousson. I guess mainstream fragrance reviews would draw the most traffic via a search engine! In any case, I think I’ve written about as many, or perhaps even more Perfume Haikus in my Perfume Haiku Series than I have full-length fragrance reviews. Well, I’m a busy man! 🙂

L'Air du Temps 1L'Air du Temps 2

But sentimentality aside, let’s pop the champagne and celebrate! I’ve got a vintage bottle of Nina Ricci‘s L’Air du Temps EDT, and I’ve got no idea how old it is. It’s 108ml and was made in France. Could anyone help me to identify it? I’d also like to host a giveaway for a 10ml decant. To enter, all you have to do is leave a comment about anything at all. You could say hi, talk about your latest fragrance lemming, write a critique of fragrance blogs, or even say, “Fuddy duddy bunnies make the best buddies.” Anything goes. The draw closes two weeks from now, on 2 May, at 12pm GMT +1.

Once again, thank you for being on this stupendous olfactory journey with me.

Love,
The Smelly Vagabond

47 thoughts on “The Smelly Vagabond’s 1st Anniversary + Giveaway: Vintage L’Air du Temps

  1. I wore L’Air du Temps in high school (early 70’s). I also loved Nina Ricci’s Bigarade. that’s very tough to find now!

  2. Congratulations Buddy! What an epic milestone. I love your Haiku and you write beautifully. It will be super fun to have you just around the corner in Singapore, now with Scoot so affordable to pop over for a long weekend.
    Wishing you years of fun in fragrance ahead.
    Portia xx

  3. Congratulations on your first anniversary!
    I love the Haikus, what a great idea you had there.
    I hope you keep on blogging for a long time to come!
    B x
    (No need to enter me in the draw.)

  4. I used to wear L’air du temps when I was younger, I’m 42 now, so…..that must be when I was about 20! I would be happy to smell it again. Thanks and congratulations for your blog.

  5. Happy 1st Blogoversary!

    Can’t believe we’ll be losing you from London so soon. Hopefully you’ll continue to blog and I’ll still see you around the blogosphere.

    No need to enter me in the draw, thanks.

    • Dear Tara,
      I know! I’m saddened by it as well. It would be nice to go sniffing around town with you and the rest of the crowd sometime before I leave! But I’ll definitely continue blogging, barring any major changes in my life (e.g. my nose becomes rotten or my fingers fall off – one never knows haha).

  6. My mother used to wear L’air du temps but its still the only smell I associate with her. I remember vintage looking bottles sitting on her dresser all those years ago. I was also pleasantly surprised when a couple of weeks ago a caught the scent on a very young woman in her late teens/early twenties. Nice to see this classic reaching out to a new generation which is so rare these days in a mass celeb fragrance market!

  7. Happy 1st Birthday to your blog!
    I love your Perfume Haiku, you really are a perfume poet! 🙂
    I always feel kinda nostalgic and sentimental about the place when I move one country to another… But, hey, a lot more fun will be ahead of you! Enjoy every moment of your life change. 🙂

  8. I am thinking that bottle of Nina Ricci is a 50’s or early 60’s bottle…..the earliest bottle of this fragrance was in 1948 I think…….would love to win oh and HAPPY ANNIVERSARY.

  9. It’s coincidence (or maybe fate?) that I was looking earlier today for a vintage bottle of L’Air Du Temps on eBay… It was my first scent, my first perfume love. I’ve never smelled the vintage and I bet it’s just magical. Thank you for the draw! Best wishes and happy blogiversary!

  10. I’d love to be in the draw please. I’m on a vintage trip and I’m just eager to try scents of yesteryear out of curiosity. I always feel that I’m an old soul!

  11. Happy 1st Blog Birthday!
    I love your Perfume Haiku series; you really are a perfume poet! 😀
    I always get somewhat nostalgic and sentimental about the place whenever I move from one country to another. But moves always bring something new to discover, so enjoy the life change and let us know all about it!
    (Now, can I finally post my comment…?)

  12. Happy blogoversary, J! sentimental or not, it’s nice to have some kind of a formal milestone to just measure whatever you want to measure – visitors, views, posts, friends you’ve gained or places youvisited.

    Do not enter me into the draw: since I’ve never tried this perfume and have no emotional ties with it, I’d rather leave more chances to others.

    Do you know where in the U.S. you’ll be studying?

  13. Dearest Vagabond
    Happiest Anniversary.
    Apologies for the belated congratulations… for you are a truly welcome source of poetry and perfume comment enlivening the internet for all!
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

  14. Pingback: Vintage L’Air du Temps Giveaway | The Smelly Vagabond

  15. Belated congratulations on your blogging anniversary! No need to enter me into the draw, but I just wanted to stop by and wish you all the best, especially for the upcoming move to the US.

  16. Congratulations on your first anniversary! I have never tried L’Air du Temps and would love the opportunity. I’m looking forward to the reveal of where in the U.S. you’ll be studying! New York…New York…New York

  17. Pingback: Winner of Vintage L’Air du Temps | The Smelly Vagabond

Leave a Reply

