Guest Post: A Delightful Non-Sequitur

Guest Post by The Fragrant Man

image

In response to Mr Vagabond’s post The Voice of a Blogger

A Story of a Delightful Non-Sequitur

I was approached by Brand X (a clue there to the cognoscenti) to see if I would write about their new releases. It is important to note here that the approach was from a PR company handsomely paid by Branch X to maximize their exposure to perfume buyers. They were extremely keen to give me ‘information’ and sent extremely high quality and beautifully shot photos of extremely expensive perfume.

Brand Rep to The Fragrant Man
We are currently looking after a few perfume labels which I thought might be of interest to you (sic) blog…

The Fragrant Man to Brand Rep

With new releases I prefer to publish a review when they are purchasable on-line by the readership. Otherwise they forget or become frustrated.

Brand to The Fragrant Man – In reference to asking for a sample.

Unfortunately, we do not have samples available at all at the moment…
Do you solely do reviews or also news and interviews? Perhaps we could work something out.

The Fragrant Man to Brand Rep

I have worked hard to gain a readership. Interestingly it is the Facebook version of The Fragrant Man that has almost 50,000 interested readers.

I am not comfortable promoting a brand I have not smelt. You could do decants if you do not have formal samples.

Brand Rep to The Fragrant Man

I do understand that you prefer to smell and try the product in order to write about it. It makes perfect sense as your readers put their trust in you,…

At the moment I cannot accommodate you but I will make sure to drop you a line should it change.

——–
Then I said no to promo writing and received a delightful non-sequitur.

Brand Rep to The Fragrant Man
Totally understand you don’t want to review without smelling first.

END OF CONVERSATION

Further Reading
Persolaise – Who do you work for? Thoughts on blogs and Perfume Criticism
Nafia Guljar – Jo Malone and the ugly side of beauty blogging
The Smelly Vagabond – The Voice of a Blogger
The Non-Blonde – Full Disclosure

 

[NB: Jordan had originally typed most of this in a comment on my previous post but it turned out to be too long, and so he contacted me about featuring this as a guest post, which I am most delighted to, especially since it’s a fantastic anecdote about what goes on between a brand and a blogger. Thanks Jordan for this piece!]

9 thoughts on “Guest Post: A Delightful Non-Sequitur

  1. Reblogged this on The Fragrant Man and commented:
    The Smelly Vagabond is hosting a conversation on credibility and perfume writing with reference to Persolaise’s article on the same topic. There are some great comments from some great people. I thought I would add to the conversation with this piece that I prepared for The Smelly Vagabond’s site. This piece is really a comment that was too long to post as a comment.

  2. Not sure if this is the right place to comment, but I find it incredible that a Brand Rep would expect anyone, repeat, anyone, to write a review on a perfume they have not smelt. Let alone someone who has a large loyal following who trusts his unbiased comments.

  3. Unfortunately, this kind of PR is very very common not only with bloggers but also toward journalists! Sometimes I have had to resist the temptation to ask some of them “Where did you get your PR skills?” I can’t understand that they don’t understand this: we need smell a perfume to be able to write about it. Otherwise it would be to lie!
    Thanks for sharing this kind of experiences.
    Fragrantly
    Virginia

    • Aha, yes I read Caro’s comment on the previous post here about ‘let’s fly you to Uruguay so that you can write a glowing review’. I think that next time you should ask them Virginia, ‘where did you get your PR skills?’.

      Nafia Guljar put it quite bluntly in Twitter: “are you a Press Puppet?”
      Well I do know that you and Caro are not and I love your individual styles of writing. Write on.

Leave a Reply

