Perfume Haikus: A Series + Histoires de Parfums’ 1889 Moulin Rouge

Starting today, I’ll be posting perfume haikus, hopefully on a daily basis. Haikus are short poems of Japanese origin – if you’re interested in reading more about them you can click here. Admittedly, I’m no expert on haikus and there are no doubt many forms of haiku that I know nothing about. I also know nothing about actual Japanese haikus, but I’ll be following the traditional ‘5-7-5’ syllabic form that is often used in English haikus.

A haiku is ” a short poem which uses imagistic language to convey the essence of an experience of nature or the season intuitively linked to the human condition”. I’ve found that our descriptions of scent are oftentimes so difficult because of our limited vocabulary, and sometimes we have to resort to conveying an idea through an image conveyed through words (that was a mouthful). So in a way, haikus, which are concerned with ‘showing’ rather than ‘explaining’, might just be an excellent way of talking about a perfume. I also find that writing a haiku about the perfume I’m wearing for the day can take place even while commuting, which is a far better alternative to staring blankly into space or avoiding eye contact with the person sitting opposite me on the tube.

Anyway, enough with all this rambling prose; let’s get on with the poetry. For today, we have Histoires de Parfums’ 1889 Moulin Rouge:

1889 Moulin Rouge

Pink lipstick kisses

A dancer’s seductive gaze

Love lasts forever

I certainly hope you guys will enjoy this haiku series! If you’d like to submit your own perfume haikus for all readers to enjoy, you’re most welcome to email me at thesmellyvagabond@gmail.com. I’d be most glad to read them and contemplate the beauty of perfume and poetry.

~ The Smelly Vagabond

7 thoughts on “Perfume Haikus: A Series + Histoires de Parfums’ 1889 Moulin Rouge

  1. I think you should check out Now Smell This – for a couple of years they’re doing a Haiku Challenge about perfume, you can see couple of my ideas out there.

  2. Pingback: The Smelly Vagabond’s 1st Anniversary + Giveaway: Vintage L’Air du Temps | The Smelly Vagabond

  3. Pingback: Moving to the USA… and some fragrant musings. | The Smelly Vagabond

Leave a Reply

