Who Lives In A Pineapple Under The Sea? L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Ananas Fizz + Giveaway!

Spongebob’s Pineapple Under The Sea

Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? Why, SpongeBob SquarePants, of course!

For those of us privileged enough to be young (at heart!) or to have children, SpongeBob is someone we’d be familiar with. He’s inane, irreverent, impudent and just a whole lot of fun! And well, he’s my favourite cartoon character, so I just couldn’t resist the urge to feature him and his lovely pineapple home in this review of L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Ananas Fizz.

Boring details first, because I wish to overturn the clichèd convention of writing all the interesting stuff first. Oh wait, I’ve actually broken the rule by featuring SpongeBob as a hook for a perfume review. Oh well, writer’s license!

Ananas Fizz was created in 2004 by perfumer Anne Flipo for L’Artisan Parfumeur, as a limited edition. I had the honour of purchasing a full bottle sometime this year, when L’Artisan Parfumeur brought it back, albeit for only a short period of time. Hopefully most of you get to sample it before they remove it off the shelves again. I wish they’d bring back the older design though!

Old Bottle

New Bottle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And now for the juicy bits (pun very much intended, thank you very much). Ananas Fizz is a walking, talking pineapple, just like how SpongeBob is a walking, talking sponge. It’s pineapple come to life. It’s pineapple with a twist. Ananas Fizz opens with a tart, green, pineapple note that is at once zesty, refreshing and cooling. It’s not cloyingly sweet in the same way that Creed’s Aventus is. Where Aventus is a can of cocktail, syrup-drenched pineapples, Ananas Fizz is what you’d get if you smelt a pineapple that hasn’t been sliced and diced. Its woody facets suggest that the rind is very much on and intact. It is sheer but projects moderately well. It is also fairly linear, with moderate longevity, especially in the summer heat, which is the best time to wear Ananas Fizz (but by all means wear it in winter too, if you want to be transported out of the freezing cold and into Hawaii, complete with beach, sand and flower leis). Lovely opening, lovely heart. During the drydown phase, cedarwood takes over. Thankfully, the cedarwood is dry and not screechy. If there had been coconut in the base, it would have completed the entire Hawaii experience. Actually, I have no idea whether coconuts grow in Hawaii. But let’s just pretend that they do.

Here’s something interesting concerning pineapples:

The Pineapple Under The Sea isn’t a real pineapple! Well, neither is Ananas Fizz. It’s a good approximation, though. That said, if you really want to smell like a real pineapple, you’d do best to rub real pineapple all over your skin. I take no responsibility for any injuries caused by the prickly parts.

Because you forgot to remove the rind, doofus!

Draw

While it might hurt you to eat pineapple with the rind on, it wouldn’t hurt to try Ananas Fizz. Or perhaps it would hurt your wallet, if after trying it you felt compelled to buy a full bottle of it. And hey, since I’m feeling generous, I’m offering a 5ml decant of Ananas Fizz to anywhere in the world (although I do not take any responsibility if it gets lost/destroyed in the mail) from my bottle if you leave a comment on either your attitude towards pineapples (e.g. you hate them because you’ve ever gotten scratched by them) and/or the most memorable experience you’ve had with pineapples, whether positive or negative, and/or your views on SpongeBob living in a pineapple under the sea. Draw closes a week from this post, at GMT 12pm on 8 September, 2013.

Details

Ananas Fizz is available on LuckyScent and retails at USD 100 for 100ml. It is unfortunately no longer available on L’Artisan Parfumeur’s website. Oh, and as an aside, prices for L’Artisan Parfumeur have officially GONE UP. What a pity.

23 thoughts on “Who Lives In A Pineapple Under The Sea? L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Ananas Fizz + Giveaway!

  1. Heya Josh
    Nice article – I can almost smell Ananas Fizz! Yum!
    Pineapples smell good but taste like knife bits in my mouth, unless dipped in dark soy sauce(which makes it tastes strange)! 😦 Spongebob is a weird show, so living in a pineapple under the sea is just so typically weird that it’s…normal! :O
    Would be cool to have a sniff of this, though ^___^
    Toodles

  2. I love pineapple! They smell amazing and taste so sweet. I had a Hawiian Luau birthday part when I was six, pineapples and coconuts were a major part of the theme. I remember my dad had the worst time trying to open a coconut for me 🙂 Would love to smell this 🙂

  3. Lol! Love the characters you use link to the scents! I think living in a pineapple under the sea is cool by the way! It will be waaaaaay interesting. Though I’m not very sure why a sponge living underwater would need to wear pants. Oh and pineapple! I love pineapple to a certain extent, when it’s sweet that is but to play it safe, I eat pineapple with salt. 😛

  4. There are coconuts in Hawaii. I make sure to buy a fresh one to drink/eat every time I’m there for a vacation.

    I like eating fresh pineapples. The worst encounter with me and pineapples was when I ate too many dried pineapples. It was awful. I still cannot stomach them.

    • I know what you mean about having a bad encounter with dried fruit! I once got an allergic reaction to dried mangoes which left a huge brown circle around my lips. I dare say I’ve been very turned off dried mangoes since then, I suspect it’s got to do with the preservatives. You’re in the draw! 🙂

  5. I love pineapple so much, my dad bought me a special pineapple cutter contraption that cores, spiral cuts, and removes the prickly peel. This perfume sounds right up my alley! Thanks for the draw 🙂

  6. Ооо, if you could only see me how hard I laughed this morning when I opened my mail and saw your ananas posting because my daughter was just watching how SpongeBob is doing some repair work to his home with the help of Patrick, Squidward, Mr Krabs and Sandy! I looove pinapples, especially because they make me slim! Yes, I slim down eating pineapples, oatmeal, youghurt, bananas, plums and dark chocolate. No, it never hurts to munch a pinapple, but it hurts that I haven’t tried any perfume with a prominent pinapple note in it!
    Thank you for the generous giveway, though I never win such games. Well, I am triyng here because I am not sure that Ananas Fizz would ever make it to our country and I am not really travelling abroad for the rest of the year due to piles of work,

    • What a coincidence! The characters are madcap and hilarious. I should probably try a pineapple diet, sounds like a delicious diet! Do you have that for every meal, or just one meal in particular? You’re in the draw, Lyubov 🙂

      • Well, it will surely bore you to eat it on every meal, but if you are a mad fan it won’t be a problem, is it? I think that half a fresh pinapple or a can of juice-dipped slices is enough for a day – whenever and however you would like to eat it. Not cooked, of course, though the cans are sometimes pasteurized.

  7. hi! i love the taste and scent of real pineapple, but unfortunately they “sting” and make my mouth pucker when i eat them, so i don’t eat them often – same with kiwi… i’d love to try what seems like a fairly realistic interpretation of pineapple!

  8. As a mom of small children, I’ll admit I burst out laughing when I saw the title of this post in my Feedly, especially since part way through reading it the tune popped into my head. I’ve got a soft spot for Patrick, he just cracks me up, not to mention that we still regularly quote from the movie in our house “This is what a real moustache looks like….” I love pineapple, but this is where I confess that I typically just buy the spears from Costco – it takes a freakin’ long time to cut up a pineapple properly when you’re as anal as I am.

    • Glad it made you laugh! Actually, if you really paid attention to SpongeBob SquarePants, there’s a more mature subtext and humour that children just don’t get. It’s what I really love about the show, that it works for both young and old alike. And I know what you mean about cutting up a pineapple properly! You’re in the draw, Dionne 🙂

  9. I work at a supermarket and everytime I pick up a pineapple to bag it i cut myself. I soon learned to pick it up by the bottom half but I love the taste of pineapples

Leave a Reply

