News: Luca Turin returning to writing perfume reviews!

source: twitter

source: twitter

Luca Turin recently tweeted that he would be writing reviews again! While that may be exciting news for some, others have commented that his reviews create “snobbery” and “stop you making your own opinions on the scent” [refer to this Basenotes thread: http://www.basenotes.net/t/372936/luca-turin-returning-to-reviews]. Personally, I find his reviews pithy, hilarious and most helpful to me because my tastes tend to be somewhat similar to Mr Turin’s. While I may not agree completely with every review (that would make me a robot, not a human), I appreciate the humour that goes into his writing.

What are your thoughts on the matter?

3 thoughts on “News: Luca Turin returning to writing perfume reviews!

  1. Truly – I’ve never cared for his opinions. To me the only opinion on a fragrance that really matters is my own. I’d rather try and be disappointed or have a scrubber than rely solely on words of somebody else.

    • For me it’s not so much a point about whether or not it matters but about the writing – does it make me want to try something that I’ve never encountered before? Does it make me laugh? Is it good writing? And I think Luca’s reviews tick these boxes.

Leave a Reply

