May 1 – Labour Day and I’m Actually Labouring

source: thebeautypress

Guerlain Muguet 2013
source: thebeautypress

It’s the 1st of May, so countries around the world are celebrating May Day. Here in the UK and back in Singapore we celebrate Labour Day, a holiday meant to celebrate the achievements of workers.

Being a student, I, unlike all you workers out there, am actually labouring on Labour Day. You see, I’ve got major examinations the next day, so by labouring I really mean studying. Yet my thoughts are preoccupied not so much with my studies, but what fragrance I should wear into the examination hall. Should I wear Comme des Garçons Incense Avignon to put me in a meditative and relaxed mood? Or how about Frederic Malle‘s En Passant which will conjure images of spring and the park as I write my essays?

Or maybe I should wear something extremely bombastic, such as Carnal Flower to distract the other students in the examination hall. You see, we are marked on a bell curve, so the worse someone else does, the better my grade will be 😀 But I jest. I would never do that, and I’d much rather rely on my brains and my hard work to do well.

Still, it’s an interesting question: what perfume should someone who’s sitting for an examination wear?

Please pray for me as I sit for my exams.

~ The Smelly Vagabond

9 thoughts on “May 1 – Labour Day and I’m Actually Labouring

  1. It’s also called a Labour Day in Poland.
    Sorry to hear you’ve got an exam tomorrow.
    I had one the day before our Long May Weekend, on Monday.
    I will be keeping my fingers crossed for you!

    In my case I like to wear something smart and quiet at the exam so that the scent won’t draw my attention. I should only focus on the paper with questions in front of me. My lucky charm exam scents are Prada Infusion d’Homme and Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme.

    Good luck tomorrow!

  2. I agree with Lucas on wearing something calming and non-distructing – both for you and people around. Even if you personally can work wearing, let’s say, Carnal Flower, I – as much as I love perfumes – would have gone berserk if I had to sit through something important for hours wafting somebody’s monstrous sillage. And trust me – I would have been vocal about it 😉 You don’t want anything like that on your exam, right?

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

